Before using MapExact, it’s best to set up the roles within your company for how map edits will be generated and approved. In MapExact, these roles are managed by one or more Company Administrators, who have the ability to add and manage the two other levels of users—Approver and User. The Admin can also divide users into various groups to help better oversee edits. 


In this article:

Roles

    Company Administrator

    Approver

    User

Groups

Creating a New Group

Creating a New User

Units


Roles

Company Administrator

Once a company account has been set up by Trimble Maps, a single login for a Company Administrator will be provided. This will be the highest level administrator provided for the MapExact account. The Admin will have the following permissions:


  • Create and edit Users
  • Create and edit Groups
  • Create edits
  • View and approve or decline submitted edits across the entire account


The Company Admin will be able to make changes to account details via the Company Administration settings menu. This menu is available via the Company Administration icon on the top right-hand side of MapExact. Multiple Company Admins can be set up on one company account. A user’s role is selected at the time he or she is added to the company account. 


Approver

An Approver can be a member of one or more Groups and will be able to approve edits submitted within those Groups. All edits are logged and stored along with a timestamp. If an edit is modified, this is also logged with the User who made the modification and a timestamp. This results in a full history of edits for any retrospective verification that may be required.


User

The User role should form the majority of user types across a company MapExact account. Users should be the source of the majority of the edits. The User has the following permissions:

  • Create edits
  • Delete his or her own edits


Groups

Each user of the company account will be a member of a Group. The Company Administrator has the right to assign, create and reorganize Groups. A new user is assigned to a Group at the time he or she is added to the company account. An Approver can be a member of multiple Groups; a User, only one.


The Admin can move Approvers and Users to different Groups as they see fit. If this takes place, please note the edits will remain as part of the previous Group. However, the user will not be able to see any edits that they had created in a previous Group.


Creating a New Group

New Groups can be created and deleted in the Company Administration section. The screenshot below shows the screen available for Group management.



Creating a New User

Only a Company Admin has permission to create logins for new users. Users are added in the Company Administration section of MapExact. For each user, the Admin will be able to enter details including the user type (User, Approver or Company Administrator) and the Groups for which they require access. The screenshot below illustrates the New User set-up screen. 



Units

On the Company Administration page, you can also set the units used to display road attributes to either US Customary (default) or Metric.